<< Yesterday

Today in Yankees History
November 29th

4 Fact(s) Found
1965 The Yankees trade Phil Linz to the Phillies for infielder Ruben Amaro. Over the next three seasons, the 26 year-old utility player, who became infamous for playing his harmonica on the team bus last season, will appear in only 165 games, retiring after spending just seven years in the major leagues.
1966 The Yankee trade veteran third baseman Clete Boyer to the Braves for outfielder Bill Robinson and right-hander Chi-Chi Olivo. Atlanta's new 29 year-old infielder, obtained to fill the void created by Eddie Matthew's departure to Houston, will have a very productive year, hitting a career-high 26 home runs and driving in 96 runs for the seventh-place club.
1976 After listening to offers from the Expos and Orioles, Baltimore free agent Reggie Jackson agrees to a five-year, $3.5 million deal to play for the Yankees, a team that many had argued against signing him. During Mr. October's turbulent tenure in the Big Apple, the Bronx Bombers will win four divisions, three pennants, and two World Series.
1995 Charley Smith, the player traded to the Yankees from the Cardinals for Roger Maris in 1967, dies at the age of 57 in Reno, Nevada. In 1965, the third baseman was dealt to the Redbirds by the Mets, along with southpaw Al Jackson, to obtain Ken Boyer.

4 Fact(s) Found