<< Yesterday

Today in Mets History
July 4th

4 Fact(s) Found
1972 In front of a large holiday crowd gathered at Shea Stadium for a doubleheader against San Diego, Tom Seaver takes a no-hitter into the ninth inning for the second time in his career. After getting Dave Roberts to ground out to second base, Leron Lee singles up the middle to spoil the no-hit bid of the 27 year-old Mets right-hander, who has to settle for his fourth one-hitter when he induces the next batter to hit into a game-ending double play.

1985 With a double in the first, a triple in the fourth, a homer in the eighth inning, Keith Hernandez completes the cycle with a single in the twelfth frame of a 19-inning contest with the Braves. The Mets first baseman's four hits, all off different pitchers, contribute to New York's 16-13 early morning victory at Atlanta-Fulton County Stadium.

"If he hits a home run to tie this game, this game will be certified as absolutely the nuttiest in the history of baseball." - JOHN STERLING, TBS broadcaster commenting to his partner Ernie Johnson about Rick Camp’s at-bat.

The Mets outlast the Braves, finally winning the game 16-13 in 19 innings, after Rick Camp, a weak-hitting hurler with a .060 average and 83 strikeouts in 167 at-bats, hit an improbable two-strike, two-out homer off Tom Gordon to tie the game in the bottom of the last frame. Shortly after the game ends at 3:55 in the morning, the approximately thousand fans left in Atlanta Fulton County Stadium stay to see the pre-dawn fireworks which awaken and frighten many of the ballpark's neighbors.

2006 Billy Wagner becomes the 20th pitcher baseball history to record 300 career saves. The significant save for the Mets' southpaw, who has also played for the Astros and Phillies, is his sixteenth of the season.

4 Fact(s) Found